The Ernest Bramah Glass Case

Kai Lung's Golden Hours


A.8 Kai Lung's Golden Hours
Contains "The Story of Wong Ts'in and the Willow Plate Embellishment", "The Story of Ning, the Captive God, and the Dreams that Mark His Race", "The Story of Wong Pao and the Minstrel", "The Story of Lao Ting and the Luminous Insect", The Story of Weng Cho; or, the One Devoid of Name", "The Story of Wang Ho and the Burial Robe", "The Story of Chang Tao, Melodious Vision and the Dragon", "The Story of Yuen Yan, of the Barber Chou-hu, and of His Wife, Tsae-che", "The Story of Hien and the Chief Examiner", "The Story of the Loyalty of Ten-teh, the Fisherman."

a. London: Grant Richards Ltd., October 1922. vii, 312 pp., 7s. 6d. Reprinted, 1922 (December), 1923 (January), 1924 (also a limited, signed edition, on large paper, a companion volume to The Wallet of Kai Lung), 1936 (limited edition also reprinted), 1942, 1946, 1947, 1957.

With a preface by Hilaire Belloc.

Pale green cloth boards. Stamped in black on upper cover: | [Oriental figure, seated, decorated] |. Stamped in black on spine: Kai Lung's | Golden | Hours | Ernest | Bramah | Gerant | Richards |. Top and fore edges trimmed. Bottom edge untrimmed. The leaves measure 7.375" by 4.875". Issued with dust wrapper.


This copy was obtained for me in 1998 by my good friend John Webb in England.


Kai Lung's Golden Hours - first edition